Al Maddox and Mike Delich Awarded Prestigious Snow Sport Awards

January 17, 2021
Al Maddox and Mike Delich Awarded Prestigious Snow Sport Awards
Canadian Snowsports Recognizes extraordinary life-long leadership within international sport
Vancouver – The Canadian Snowsports Association, which oversees the six Olympic and Paralympic disciplines for FIS matters, today named two life-long volunteers as recipients of awards that acknowledge extraordinary commitment, passion and contribution to the advancement of sport on the snow in Canada. the 2020 recipients of the Patricia Ramage and Dee Read Memorial Awards.
Al Maddox of Thunder Bay, Ontario, has been named recipient of the Patricia Ramage Memorial Award, which recognizes extraordinary contribution to snowsport as a Canadian FIS committee member. Al served the cross country community for sixteen years at the highest technical levels within the FIS, as a member of the Cross Country Committee as well as the Rules subcommittee, as well as serving as a FIS Technical Delegate. He developed TD education modules and homologation software that continue to be in use worldwide. He also worked within Cross Country Canada/Nordiq Canada on the Board, for events and within his home club in Thunder Bay.
Mike Delich of Fernie, BC, has been named recipient of the Dee Read Memorial Award, which recognizes many years of outstanding volunteer service to Canadian snow sports as a FIS Technical Delegate. Mike served for 24 years as a FIS Technical Delegate for alpine skiing, capped with the assignment as Start Referee and member of the FIS Jury at the Olympic Winter Games in Torino 2006. His contribution to snow sports has extended well beyond his role as an official, serving as a Member of the Board of Alpine Canada Alpin and Chair of BC Alpine. His organizational and leadership skills as Chief of Race contributed to successful World Cup events and the men’s speed events for the 1988 Olympic Winter Games in Calgary. He was a valued leader of ski club development with the Red Mountain Racers and Fernie Alpine Ski Team, providing a foundation for many young athletes who achieved international recognition in Olympic, World Championship and World Cup competition.
“Al Maddox and Mike Delich represent the very best of those who make such a remarkable contribution to our sport,” said CSA President, Chris Robinson. “This enormous investment of time and passion are what advance our competitors and our sport and have built Canada’s very positive reputation within the FIS and the international snowsport family.”
“Canadian sport is so fortunate to have dedicated international officials who are recognized for their leadership and who have reached beyond their FIS role to lead athlete development, are committed to fair play and contribute to sport beyond their own athletes and their own sport,” said CSA Awards Committee Chair, Ken Read. “Al and Mike are builders who have made our sport better, given our competitors greater opportunity, built our officials system and been an inspiration to so many across the country. We cannot thank Al and Mike enough for their tireless work.”
The Canadian Snowsports Association oversees the six Olympic snowsport disciplines as recognized by the International Ski Federation (FIS), coordinating international representation for Canada and managing annual awards including the John Semmelink Award for athletes, the Patricia Ramage Memorial Award for FIS committee members, the Dee Read Memorial Award for FIS Technical Delegates and the Peter Andrews Memorial Award for extraordinary contribution to the advancement of snow sports.
For further information:
Lillian Alderton | CANADIAN SNOWSPORTS ASSOCIATION 265 – 1177 West Broadway, Vancouver, BC V6H 1G3 Office: 604-734-6800